< >

 

Earthquake – M7.8 – 69km NNE of Awaran, Pakistan

Earthquake - M7.8 - 69km NNE of Awaran, Pakistan

An earthquake measuring 7.8 has struck southwest Pakistan, with tremors felt across the region and as far as New Delhi. The quake struck in Balochistan, just 69 km north-northeast of Arawan, the nearest city.

The US Geological Survey has measured the quake at 7.8 magnitude. A “RED” alert has been issued by the agency. This means estimated fatalities of over 1,000 and damages costing over $1 billion.

Event Time

2013-09-24 11:29:48 UTC
2013-09-24 16:29:48 UTC+05:00 at epicenter
2013-09-24 12:29:48 UTC+01:00 system time

Location

27.016°N 65.547°E depth=15.0km (9.3mi)

Nearby Cities

69km (43mi) NNE of Awaran, Pakistan
115km (71mi) NW of Bela, Pakistan
171km (106mi) NW of Uthal, Pakistan
174km (108mi) S of Kharan, Pakistan
795km (494mi) ENE of Muscat, Oman

Source: USGS

Read more

Tags: ,


 

Follow Us for Live Updates


Please Share Us Now!