< >

 

Watch The Rosetta Mission Comet Landing Success [VIDEO]

Rosetta Mision Comet LandingToday, the European Space Agency’s Rosetta spacecraft will release its Philae lander to make space history: the first soft-landing on a comet. If all goes well, Philae will make a seven-hour descent from Rosetta to the surface of Comet 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko and land at 10:35 a.m. EST (1535 GMT). Update for Nov. 12 at 8:14 a.m. EST (1314 GMT): Philae is current on its way down to the surface of the comet.

Latest Update (4:04 a m ET): The European Space Agency’s Rosetta spacecraft has launched its Philae lander at the Comet 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko, beginning what scientists are calling “seven hours of terror” for today’s historic comet landing. The lander should reach the comet’s surface by 10:35 a.m. ET (1535 GMT), with landing confirmation reaching Eart at 11:02 a.m. ET (1602 GMT).

Tags: , , ,

Welcome to LNC Live News Stream Cloud